Cheese Souffle Blinis with Scrambled Egg and Bacon

Using my TARDIS (mine looks like a walk-in fridge, and on the inside has an entire supermarket) I have travelled forward from the 8th March when I cooked this, to some time in early April to write it up. Once I’m done I’ll pop back to the end of March just to make sure I post it in time to meet the March deadline. Simples!

So, on pancake day, a mere five minutes ago for me due to the timey-wimey shenanigans, I wanted to try something a little bit different, so I found a recipe and then completely rewrote it a bit so that I could just get away with using things already in the kitchen and not have to go to the supermarket (someone else had the TARDIS that day).

Ingredients
170g plain flour
2tsp baking powder
salt and pepper
290ml milk
2tsp mustard powder
150g grated strong cheddar cheese
small handful of fresh chopped chives
8 eggs
butter
bacon

1. Mix the flour, baking powder, milk and a pinch of salt and pepper in to a smooth batter.

2. Add the cheese, mustard and most of the chives (keep some for garnish at the end) and mix until well combined.

3. Separate the whites from 4 eggs in to a seperate bowl (keep the yolks for later) and whisk until they form peaks.

4. Gradually fold the egg whites in to the batter using a metal spoon.

5. Melt a knob of butter in a frying pan over a medium-high heat, then spoon in the pancake mixture to make pancakes of about 10cm diameter.

6. Fry in batches for 2-3 minutes, then turn over and fry for another 1-2 minutes. Keep going until all the batter is used up and then put the blinis somewhere to keep warm.

7. Cook the bacon however you prefer, I grilled mine. For the scrambled eggs… I added the leftover yolks to the other four eggs which made it an amazingly vibrant yellow colour, but it was also quite dense, even with a lot of whisking. I’d probably just leave them out if I did it again.

8. Arrange in an incredibly artistic pile on a plate and garnish with chives (or forget and find them on the chopping board later).

Cheddar Blinis

Serves 4

Leave a Reply

