No Pastry Pear Tartlets

What can I say – these sounded delicious, and I haven’t made tartlets of any sort before. Simple, quick, and best of all – no pastry to worry over. They also use icing sugar in place of regular, which I haven’t seen before. I had all the ingredients on hand, so I thought I’d try them.

I only have 4 tartlet pans, so I adjusted the amounts.

Ingredients:
120g butter
45g plain flour
120g icing sugar
65g ground almonds
2 large eggs, beaten
2 small pears, thinly sliced

Method:
Preheat oven to 200C, and butter the tartlet tins.
Melt the butter.
Sift flour and sugar together, then stir in the ground almonds. (I actually didn’t sift anything – it all turned out fine).
Mix in the butter and eggs.
Divide between the tins and place pear slices on top. (I only used one pear, and put a sliced quarter on each tin.)
Bake 10 mins.
Turn the oven down to 170C and back a further 5 mins, or until evenly golden brown.

Yummy.

These were indeed delicious; I was a little surprised that there was no spice, no vanilla, just that very short ingredient list, but they’re perfect. Buttery, crisp at the edges, dense and cakey, they would work equally well with other fruit I think – maybe plums or raspberries, anything sweet and juicy like that. Sadly the pear I used wasn’t nearly as ripe as I thought, so that aspect was a bit disappointing. I shall try again with a much riper one!

Also point to note – even cut down, this made more mixture than would fit comfortably in the tins. I took the precaution of setting the little tins in a bigger roasting pan and it’s just as well; the one in the photo was the only one that didn’t overflow, volcano-like.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tinytearoom
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 09:26:43

    I’m glad you enjoyed them despite the lack of spices, the overflowing situation and underripe fruit. I think I might try them with blueberries next time. maybe you can sprinkle some cinnamon along with the icing sugar on top after baking. That would make it absolutely glorious!

    Reply

  2. Ilira
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 09:54:15

    Heh – no complaints! They were wonderful as is, but a spice sprinkle might be something to try as a variation, for sure. Size of tins is always a tricky one, and I wasn’t sure how much they would rise – next time any extra goes in a muffin cup!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

