Turkey Meatloaf

Meatloaf really hasn’t been a feature in my life. My vague impressions of it have been less than favourable and there’s no family tradition for a “good one”. So I have a sort of distant curiosity about why it’s so massively popular, and of course I’m interested in the million variations that turn up again and again on the web.

Then I saw a recipe for turkey meatloaf that rang a few of my bells. Lots of fresh veggies. Turkey, not a heavy mass of beef, or the abominable pork/beef mixture. Mozzarella on the top! Garlic and courgette and onions and oregano.. okay, time for an experiment.

Of course, I am incapable of following a recipe perfectly. I nearly sprain something when I try – which I will do, if it’s cakes or some other incomprehensible wizardry – but savoury? Meat? Hah! I rolled up my sleeves and made it up as I went along, using this recipe as a general inspiration more than an exact guide.

Most of the ingredients!

Ingredients:
The meatloaf:
500g ground turkey
Half a midsize courgette, grated
Half a midsize red pepper, diced small
1 celery stalk, diced small
Half a medium onion, diced small
1 slice bread, torn into crumbs
Large handful of flat parsley (leaves only), chopped
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 large egg
2 tbl milk
1 tbl oil
Generous shake of oregano
Generous grind of black pepper

The topping:
1 tub pasta sauce, I used a Mediterranean Vegetable one.
a generous handful of grated mozzarella

Pre topping. I put the whole tub on.

Method:
Preheat the oven to 180C.
Beat together the egg, milk and oil.
Mix all the meatloaf ingredients in a large bowl, not too hard. I used a fork and a fairly light touch. You don’t want to make a great heavy mass, just get everything combined.
Tip into a loaf pan (I did give mine a spray with oil) and spread it out evenly. I used a 2lb pan so it only came up about half way. Don’t press it down too hard.
Top with the pasta sauce.
Pop into the oven and bake for 40 mins.
Take it out, sprinkle the mozzarella over the top and return to oven for 10 mins.

Not sure how you take appetising pictures of meatloaf…. maybe I should have slathered extra sauce over it!

Verdict: tasty but a slightly odd grainy texture – from the courgette, I think. Falls apart fairly easily, which is a good thing (not too dense) as well as a less good one (not sure how well it will slice cold). The sauce makes it; next time I’ll definitely reserve some extra for serving. I understand meatloaf is traditionally served with mashed potatoes, and that would be awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

