Spinach, Bacon and Cheese Frittata

(Oops.. this should have been my June post. Um.)

In keeping with my no-junk week, I wanted something proteiny I could have in the fridge, cut chunks of, and eat hot or cold. I’m also obsessed with spinach at the moment for some reason. So this fit the bill. I made up the recipe to fit what I had on hand, but it’s not greatly different from many out there, I think. I don’t really measure when I’m making things up, unfortunately, so the amounts are estimates.

One other thing – it’s not truly a frittata, as I don’t have a pan that will go from hob to oven. So I cooked the things that needed cooking first, then put the whole lot in a baking tin.

Ingredients
6 eggs
1 cup grated cheddar
1/3 cup milk
2 cups spinach, cooked and drained
1 small onion (I used a fat shallot I had lurking in the fridge)
4 rashers smoked streaky bacon
1 clove garlic, crushed
1/2 tsp Herbes de Provence
Good grind of black pepper

Method
1. Chop the bacon and onion small and fry together until onion is translucent and bacon is cooked through.
2. Add the garlic and spinach and stir well together. Set aside.
3. In a bowl, beat the eggs with the milk.
4. Beat in the herbs and pepper, then stir the cheese in thoroughly.
5. Tip the spinach mixture into a baking receptacle (I used a tall round 8″ cake tin, but anything will do, really. Not too big, this should be quite thick).
6. Carefully pour the egg mixture over it and stir gently to distribute the spinach and cheese
7. Bake at 160C (fan – adjust as required) for about 40 minutes. It should be golden brown on top and set, cooked all the way through.
8. Remove from oven and let it settle. Slice and serve!

This thing is an Atkins delight, and very concentrated. Start with a small slice! When cool, it will hold together beautifully and should keep for two or three days in the fridge. I plan to have a chunk of it for breakfast tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

